IRB Racing Season Concludes

Nicole Air

The 2016 IRB racing season concluded this weekend at the Australian IRB Championships hosted by Mollymook Surf Life Saving Club

Thirroul SLSC were represented by a small team in comparison to other clubs but raced strongly throughout the season continually making finals.

The female teams tasted the most success winning premiership gold, which is held over a series of four rounds, in the tube rescue and mass rescue races. The solid form continued through the NSW State Championships winning gold in the female tube rescue, female mass rescue and female teams rescue. No medals were won at the Australian Championships but the girls still made a number of finals.

The male teams raced well and were unlucky at times while the masters went close at the State Championships making finals but failing to medal.

Five representatives of Thirroul were chosen to represent NSW in the Australian Interstate IRB Championships finishing second overall to a QLD team who's dominance is only surpassed by their Rugby League counterparts.

"The IRB team is always on the lookout for new talent" IRB Team Manager Emma Lockhart stated, she continued "if anyone is interested they should approach one of the team and ask them how to get involved. Patrols are about to start and that is a good time to combine skills maintenance in the duck with a little bit of skills acquisition".


  • 2016 Australian IRB Championships
    • 4th & 6th Female Tube Rescue
    • 4th Female Rescue
    • 8th Female Teams Rescue
  • 2016 NSW IRB State Championships
    • Gold Female Tube Rescue - Anne Walton, Emma Lockhart, Daniel McGowan
    • Gold Female Mass Rescue - Kathy Foster, Bridgette Lockhart, Emma Lockhart, Anne Walton
    • Gold Female Teams Rescue - Kathy Foster, Bridgette Lockhart, Anne Walton, Emma Lockhart, Nadine Egan-Scott, Mikaela Ezzi
  • 2016 NSW IRB Premiership
    • Gold Female Tube Rescue
    • Gold Female Mass Rescue
Thirroul SLSC IRB Team
Thirroul SLSC IRB Team
NSW IRB Representatives from Thirroul
NSW IRB Representatives from Thirroul; Steve Robson, Andrew Turner, Dan McGowan, Bridgette Lockhart and Emma Lockhart
You are here: Home News IRB Racing Season Concludes